Why Selling Stuff Doesn’t Earn as Much as You Think

MW-BC932_suburb_20130520160242_MD

Elizabeth O’Brien had a great article in last week’s Market Watch. It starts:

Many boomers turn to estate sales to pare their possessions for a downsizing move, either their own or their parents’. Too often, those who expect to bank some serious cash are in for a rude shock: Their possessions are worth a fraction of what they imagine.

Do read the entire piece. It’s a sobering but very true assessment of the value of your Stuff.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/why-aunt-bettys-silver-wont-pay-the-bills-2013-06-04

About Mary Miley

I was born at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY, where my father taught tactics to the cadets, so it's no surprise that my earliest memories are of the Corps drilling on the parade grounds to the rhythm of the Army band. I attended public schools in Pennsylvania, Illinois, and France, then worked my way through the College of William and Mary in Virginia as a costumed tour guide at Colonial Williamsburg, experiencing first hand the pleasures of wearing 18th-century attire during the sweltering summer. After putting my husband through law school selling cheese in Cleveland—aw, come on, it was a recession!—I returned to Williamsburg for a masters degree in history and a full-time job at Colonial Williamsburg, working with antiques and reproductions. It was there that I really learned how to write and how to make history come alive. When my children were young, I left Williamsburg for a thirteen-year stint teaching American history and museum studies at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, and at the same time consulted with museums across the country on matters retail and financial. A free-lance writer since 1986, I have published a dozen nonfiction books and more than 200 magazine articles, most on history, travel, and business topics. During the past few years, I've branched into fiction, writing the first two of a mystery series and a romantic suspense, all set in the 1920s. The first, THE IMPERSONATOR, won the national contest for Best First Crime Novel and was published in 2013 by St. Martin's/Minotaur; its sequel, SILENT MURDERS, came out in 2014. I live in Richmond, Virginia, with my husband, an attorney. My greatest pleasures are traveling, playing the pipe organ with all the stops out, and reading mysteries.

Posted on July 6, 2013, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment